Mod16: Control Wizard

Ziek88
Baron
Baron
Realm: Guild Wars 2

Mod16: Control Wizard

Post by Ziek88 »

I will start with I am not a CW expert. I have some advanced knowledge but I do not regularly play one. I encourage those who do to correct any inaccuracies I provide or add insight from their deeper knowledge pool on this subject.

With the new mod the CW is one of 3 classes that does not have a designated support path and instead has 2 DPS paths. One focused on AoE and the other on single target. My overall take is something feels off in the CW. For a class centered on spellcasting the spells have rather long cooldowns leaving long durations of just at-wills which feels...dull for a spellcaster. After inspecting the NW forums this seems to be a general consensus. Hopefully the Devs will address this.

Single target path is "Arcanist"
This path is the newer version of Spellstorm. It has some of the expected spells like Disintegrate and Ray of Enfeeblement. Disintegrate still seems to pack a good punch. General goal seems to get your stacks of Arcane and apply stacks of chill to the enemy before being able to deliver solid damage. I wasn't able to get any decent damage out of this path. Felt lacking in my opinion.

AoE path is "Thaumaturge"
The replacement of Master of Flame. Oddly, this actually felt like the old spellstorm with MoF flair. Conduit of Ice lives here and fanning the flame. This path builds on the interaction between applying smolder and chill to the enemy. Applying both felt fairly easy and damage felt significant enough to be happy with. This path felt like the old CW. Icy Terrain, Icey Rays, Conduit of Ice but then add in Fanning the Flame.
Neverwinter: @zyek88
  • Guardian Fighter - Ziek
    Scourge Warlock - Zabbit
Discord: Ziek88#2954
nmates
Knight
Knight

Re: Mod16: Control Wizard

Post by nmates »